IV. Withdrawal

by valerie shultz

July 15, 2011

0530 hours

My head hurts.  A lot.  I thought the hardest part of this trip, next to not being able to breathe, would be not having ice.  Europe doesn’t have ice, or at least not readily available.  Why???  I have ice at home- as much as I want any time I want without even having to be burdened by opening a refrigerator door.  Even my Saint Bernard loves getting ice from the dispenser.  Spoiled dog.  Here, no ice.

However, this headache I woke up with is not ice withdrawal.  Caffeine, baby.  All the way.  I haven’t had a Dr. Pepper since I was in Phoenix.  If I don’t have caffeine soon my head may explode.  Of course, at this point, that may be a relief.

I gave up Dr. Pepper for missionary work.  (Not necessarily voluntarily, but because Poland doesn’t have Dr. Pepper.)  Sadly, for me, that is a sacrifice.  Number one for the new year’s resolution list next year.

previous     |     list page     |     next

